Rhode Island's Dumb and Crazy laws

Rhode Island
• Any marriage where either of the parties is an idiot or lunatic is null and void.
• Exercising any labor, business, or work, or using any game, sport, play, or recreation, or causing any of the above to be done to or by your children, servants, or apprentices on the first day of the week (Sunday) results in a penalty of $5 for the first offense and $10 for the second.
• In Providence, Rhode Island it is illegal to sell toothpaste and a toothbrush to the same customer on a Sunday.
• In Newport, Rhode Island it is illegal to smoke from a pipe after sunset.
• In Scituate, Rhode Island it is illegal to keep a flock of chickens in your motorhome if you live in a trailer park.
• Impersonating a town sealer, auctioneer, corder of wood, or a fence-viewer is against the law. Penalty: $20 to $100 fine.
• It is considered an offense to throw pickle juice on a trolley.
• It is illegal to challenge someone to a duel, or accept a duel, even it it is never actually fought. Penalty: Imprisonment for one to seven years.
• It is illegal to coast downhill in your car with your transmission in neutral, or with the clutch disengaged.
• It is illegal to place a windmill within twenty-five (25) rods of any traveled street or road.
• It's a misdemeanor to keep more than 11 inoperable vehicles in front of a house.
• Professional sports, except ice polo and hockey, must obtain a license to play games on Sunday.
• Providence There is not an appeals process for exemption of property tax due to a disability or poverty. It is illegal to wear transparent clothing. You may not sell toothpaste and a toothbrush to the same customer on a Sunday.
• Riding a horse over any public highway for the purpose of racing, or testing the speed of the horse is illegal. Penalty: Maximum $20 fine and imprisonment for 10 days.
• This state still prohibits unmarried people from having sex under any circumstances. However, if caught, the lovers are both fined only 10 dollars
• West Warwick It is illegal to use water on even-numbered days for the sole purpose of watering plants, gardens, or lawns. If you break this law there is a fine of $25-$100.
• You may not sell toothpaste and a toothbrush to the same customer on a Sunday.
Uploaded 01/01/2010
  • 0 Favorites
  • Flag
  • Stumble
  • Pin It